Public Document Pack

Supplementary **Agenda**



Meeting name	Meeting of the Council	
Date	Thursday, 23 February 2023	
Start time	6.30 pm	
Venue	Parkside, Station Approach, Burton Street,	
	Melton Mowbray LE13 1GH	
Other information	This meeting is open to the public	

Meeting enquiries	Democratic Services
Email	democracy@melton.gov.uk

No.	Item	Page No.
14.	REVIEW OF POLITICAL BALANCE AND ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO POLITICAL GROUPS The Monitoring Officer is to present the review of political balance and allocation of seats to political groups.	235 - 240



Committee Membership 2022-23 (February 2023)

0	One was New /N	0		
Committee	Group Name/Non- aligned	Councillor name		
Audit and	Conservative	Cllr Donald Pritchett (Chairman)		
Standards *	Conservative	Cllr Chris Fisher (Vice-Chair)		
10 Members	Conservative	Cllr Siggy Atherton		
	Conservative	Cllr Pru Chandler		
Politically Balanced	Conservative	Cllr Jeanne Douglas		
Balarioca	Conservative	Cllr Tim Webster		
7 Conservative	Conservative	Cllr Jacob Wilkinson		
1 Opposition 1 Non-aligned	Opposition	Cllr Elaine Holmes		
1 Vacancy	Non-aligned	Cllr Simon Lumley		
	Vacancy			
Substitutes	Conservative	Cllr Rob Bindloss		
	Conservative	Cllr Chris Evans		
	Conservative	Cllr Alison Freer		
	Conservative	Cllr Rebecca Smith		
	Opposition	Cllr Steven Carter		
	Non-aligned	Vacancy		
	Hon anghoa	vacancy		
* Standards Sub Committee		Members from the Audit and Standards		
		•		
Committee Employment	Committee – 5 out of 10	Members from the Audit and Standards		
Committee	Committee – 5 out of 10	Members from the Audit and Standards Leader (Chairman)		
Committee Employment 7 Members Politically	Conservative Conservative	Deputy Leader (Vice Chairman)		
Committee Employment 7 Members Politically Balanced	Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative	Deputy Leader (Vice Chairman) Cllr Ronnie de Burle		
Committee Employment 7 Members Politically	Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative	Deputy Leader (Vice Chairman) Cllr Ronnie de Burle Cllr Robert Child		
Committee Employment 7 Members Politically Balanced 5 Conservative	Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative	Deputy Leader (Vice Chairman) Cllr Ronnie de Burle Cllr Robert Child Cllr Alison Freer		
Committee Employment 7 Members Politically Balanced 5 Conservative 1 Opposition	Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Opposition	Deputy Leader (Vice Chairman) Cllr Ronnie de Burle Cllr Robert Child Cllr Alison Freer Cllr Elaine Holmes		
Committee Employment 7 Members Politically Balanced 5 Conservative 1 Opposition 1 Non-aligned (Leader & Deputy Leader as Chair	Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Opposition	Deputy Leader (Vice Chairman) Cllr Ronnie de Burle Cllr Robert Child Cllr Alison Freer Cllr Elaine Holmes		
Committee Employment 7 Members Politically Balanced 5 Conservative 1 Opposition 1 Non-aligned (Leader & Deputy Leader as Chair & Vice Chair)	Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Opposition Non-aligned	Deputy Leader (Vice Chairman) Cllr Ronnie de Burle Cllr Robert Child Cllr Alison Freer Cllr Elaine Holmes Cllr Simon Lumley		
Committee Employment 7 Members Politically Balanced 5 Conservative 1 Opposition 1 Non-aligned (Leader & Deputy Leader as Chair & Vice Chair)	Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Opposition Non-aligned Conservative	Deputy Leader (Vice Chairman) Cllr Ronnie de Burle Cllr Robert Child Cllr Alison Freer Cllr Elaine Holmes Cllr Simon Lumley Cllr Rob Bindloss		
Committee Employment 7 Members Politically Balanced 5 Conservative 1 Opposition 1 Non-aligned (Leader & Deputy Leader as Chair & Vice Chair)	Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Opposition Non-aligned Conservative	Deputy Leader (Vice Chairman) Cllr Ronnie de Burle Cllr Robert Child Cllr Alison Freer Cllr Elaine Holmes Cllr Simon Lumley Cllr Rob Bindloss Cllr Pam Posnett		
Committee Employment 7 Members Politically Balanced 5 Conservative 1 Opposition 1 Non-aligned (Leader & Deputy Leader as Chair & Vice Chair)	Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Conservative Opposition Non-aligned Conservative Conservative Conservative	Deputy Leader (Vice Chairman) Clir Ronnie de Burle Clir Robert Child Clir Alison Freer Clir Elaine Holmes Clir Simon Lumley Clir Rob Bindloss Clir Pam Posnett Clir Rebecca Smith		

Committee	Group Name/Non-aligned	Councillor name	
Planning Conservative		Cllr Pam Posnett (Chairman)	
11 Members	Conservative	Cllr Tim Webster (Vice-Chair)	
	Conservative	Cllr Ronan Browne	
Politically	Conservative	Cllr Pru Chandler	
Balanced	Conservative	Cllr Chris Evans	
8 Conservative	Conservative	Cllr John Illingworth	
2 Opposition	Conservative	Cllr Donald Pritchett	
1 Non-aligned	Conservative	Cllr Rebecca Smith	
	Opposition	Cllr Elaine Holmes	
	Opposition	Cllr Phillip Wood	
	Non-aligned	Cllr Simon Lumley	
Substitutes	Conservative	Cllr Siggy Atherton	
	Conservative	Cllr Robert Child	
	Conservative	Cllr Alison Freer	
	Conservative	Cllr Jacob Wilkinson	
	Opposition	Cllr Steven Carter	
	Non-aligned	Vacancy	
Scrutiny	Conservative	Cllr Robert Child (Chairman)	
10 Members	Conservative	Cllr Jacob Wilkinson (Vice-Chair)	
	Conservative	Cllr Siggy Atherton	
Politically	Conservative	Cllr Pru Chandler	
balanced	Conservative	Cllr Chris Evans	
7 Conservative	Conservative	Cllr Pam Posnett	
2 Opposition	Conservative	Cllr Tim Webster	
1 Non-aligned	Opposition	Cllr Elaine Holmes	
(Must not include Cabinet Member)	Opposition	Cllr Steven Carter	
No substitutes	Non-aligned	Cllr Simon Lumley	

Committee	Group Name/Non- aligned	Councillor name
Licensing	Conservative	Cllr Jeanne Douglas (Chairman)
(Regulatory)	Conservative	Cllr Pru Chandler (Vice-Chair)
10 Members	Conservative	Cllr Ronnie de Burle
	Conservative	Cllr Chris Fisher
7 Conservative	Conservative	Cllr John Illingworth
1 Opposition 1 Non-aligned	Conservative	Cllr Pam Posnett
1 Vacancy	Conservative	Cllr Donald Pritchett
· · · • · • · • · • · • · • · • · • · •	Opposition	Cllr Elaine Holmes
	Non-aligned	Cllr Simon Lumley
	Vacancy	
Substitutes	Conservative	Cllr Siggy Atherton
	Conservative	Cllr Rob Bindloss
	Conservative	Cllr Margaret Glancy
	Conservative	Cllr Rebecca Smith
	Opposition	Cllr Phil Wood
	Non-aligned	Vacancy
**Licensing Sub Committee - 3 out of 10 Members from the Licensing Committee		

Joint Staff Working Group

Working Group	Group Name or Single Cllr	Councillor name
7 Members	Conservative	Cllr Rob Bindloss
Political	Conservative	Cllr Ronnie de Burle
Balance required:	Conservative	Cllr Malise Graham
5 Conservative	Conservative	Cllr Joe Orson
1 Opposition	Conservative	Cllr Pam Posnett
	Opposition	Cllr Steven Carter
1 Non-aligned		
	Non-aligned	Cllr Simon Lumley

Local Plan Review Working Group

	Group Name or Single Cllr	Councillor name
5 Members	Conservative (Relevant Portfolio Holder)	Cllr Rob Bindloss
Political Balance Required: 3 Conservative	Conservative	Cllr Pru Chandler
1 Opposition 1 Non-aligned	Conservative	Cllr Pam Posnett
(Membership to include 1 the relevant Portfolio Holder.)	Opposition	Cllr Elaine Holmes
(Membership criteria decided at Council, 26 April 2022.)	Non-aligned	Cllr Simon Lumley

This page is intentionally left blank